Top 10 Best Lines and Truisms from Some Movies I Kind of Sort of Like [N through Z]

Been one of those weeks … so I thought I’d cheer myself up by sharing some favorite lines from movies (N through Z only this time). Some of ‘em you might even overhear me mumbling to myself if you’re around me long enuff. Enjoy!

Night at the Roxbury
Steve (Will Ferrell). Shut up … you had me at “hello …”

The Princess Bride [two for the price of one!]
Valerie (Carol Kane). LIE-yahr!

Inigo (Mindy Patinkin). Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya … [Can you, like, quote the rest ...?]

Rat Race
The Squirrel Lady (Kathy Bates; uncredited). YOU * SHOULD * HAVE * BOUGHT * A * SQUIRREL

Shall We Dance?
Beverly (Susan Sarandon). Why is it, do you think, that people get married? … Because we need a witness to our lives. There’s a billion people on the planet. I mean, what does any one life really mean? But in a marriage, you’re promising to care about everything – the good things, the bad things, the terrible things, the mundane things. All of it. All the time, every day. You’re saying, “Your life will not go unnoticed, because I will notice it. Your life will not go unwitnessed, because I will be your witness.” You can quote me on that, if you like.

So I Married an Ax Murderer
Charlie (Mike Myers). WUH-man, wuh-man, WUUUUUUUUUUH-man.

The SpongeBob SquarePants Movie
SpongeBob (SpongeBob). Well, good luck with that …

Tank Girl
Tank Girl (Lori Petty). It ain’t the world I woulda made, but it’s the world I live in.

13 Going on 30
Jenna (Jennifer Garner). Mattie! [Waves at him to come dance.] It’s Thriller!

Win a Date with Tad Hamilton!
Tad (Josh Duhamel). Hey – I AM the boy next door … if you happen to live in a very dysfunctional neighborhood.

8 thoughts on “Top 10 Best Lines and Truisms from Some Movies I Kind of Sort of Like [N through Z]

  1. “She stole my heart and my cat.”

    “That’s the artificial horizon, which is better than the actual horizon.”

    “I find it interesting that you refer to the Weekly World News as, ‘The paper.'”

    “We have a piper down!”

    You hit one of my favorites… directed by Thomas Schlamme, who went on to another favorite, The West Wing. “Come quick, Sam’s getting his ass kicked by a girl!” “I’ll get the popcorn.”

  2. Ah yes, The Princess Bride. What a great movie. The ending is, “You killed my father, prepare to die.”

    How could you pick only one line from Rat Race. There were so many good one. Rowan Atkinson as Enrico Pollini was at his best — “It’s a race. Ey’m veenning, Ey’m veenning.”

  3. OMG! LOL! UFO!

    Whatever.

    Anyway, this is fun! I’m working on Top 10 from [A through M]. And later, best superquotes from superhero movies. (Sorry, but probably Marvel comics-to-films only …) (Maybe Image WildC.A.T.s, too.) Maybe the 10 films that usually make me cry. [And remember, Lord of the Rings counts as three ...]

    Stay tuned. Will throw ‘em in there when most needed … life’s toooo intense otherwise.

  4. …well, I’ve “been mostly dead all day” but I am glad I stopped in for a cheery moment ;^)

    …and don’t even get me started on movie lines! All mine will be ancient, of course, since I rarely go to movies anymore…

    …but I definitely might be able to put up my favorite lines from VeggieTales!

  5. Princess Bride is one of our favs.
    “NO MORE RHYMES, AND I MEAN IT” “ANYONE FOR A PEANUT”

    INCONCEIVABLE

    So I married an ax murderer is also a good one too.

    “Look at the size of that boy’s heed.”

    “I’m not kidding, it’s like an orange on a toothpick.”

    “Well, that’s a huge noggin. That’s a virtual planetoid. Has it’s own weather system”

    “HEAD! MOVE!”

    “I’m not kidding, that boy’s head is like Sputnik; spherical but quite pointy at parts! Now that was offsides, wasn’t it? He’ll be crying himself to sleep tonight, on his huge pillow.”

    And my favorite:”HEED! PANTS! NOW!”

    Thanks, Brad that was fun ;-)

  6. uh-HUH! that’s what i’m talkin’ ’bout!

    Amazing how fave movies stick with us. I fondly recall one dinner party with about 15 American and Australian adults ages 23 to 60, and someone started a stream of quotes from *The Princess Bride.* Almost everyone did a riff or two on that theme, and it went on for 5 to 10 minutes, most lines with grandiose gestures and the most amazing, animated facial expressions.

    When I grow up, I wanna write movie scripts!

    Well, at least some good one-liners would do, I guess …

  7. another one of my favorites is from “Christmas Story” when the son is helping his dad change the tire.

    Oooh fuuudge!
    Ralphie as Adult: [narrating] Only I didn’t say “Fudge.” I said THE word, the big one, the queen-mother of dirty words, the “F-dash-dash-dash” word!

  8. Hullo-o-o…

    “I believe I ordered the LARGE cappucino!”

    When I first saw “axe murderer” with friends many years ago I laughed my head off… many of the lines became favourites to us all. So much so that I once saw a friend across a crowded nightclub and at a quieter moment simply yelled “Heid.” Across the club the response came… “Pants. Now!” It’s still often the call when I see my mate in a public place!

    Mike Myers caricature of the Scottish Dad, was instantly recognisable as many of the kid’s Dads where I grew up – including my own… At some stage I suggested to my Dad that he watch it… it didn’t seem funny at all to him ;-) funny that…

    Brad-man… sorry I’m not around to contribute as much as I’d like at present. I really appreciate your thinking on key transitions and hope to respond at some point.

    Luvyerwork

    A Celtic Son

Comments are closed.