Happy Blogiversary … 12 years in [2003-2015] and starting into #13 …

In the spring of 2003, friends of mine from the emerging ministry WabiSabi event told me I needed to start blogging. And when 20-/30-something friends talk, I listen … as I hopefully do with all friends of whatever age. Taking up blogging seemed the right thing to do, and so I began …

But, having the strong conviction that we intellectuals should not take ourselves too seriously, I decided to inaugurate my blog curate on April 1st, 2003. Not that I expected everything I wrote to be, uhh, funny. Or punny. Or even noteworthy. It was just a journey that I’d have to see how it unfolded.

I started out with a sort of journal-ish style. Some stuff was memorable, other stuff mundane. My first post had the rather ponderous title of: “The Frodo Syndrome: Overcoming Grief and Melancholia in the Modern-to-Postmodern Transition.” Umm, yeah. But actually, it had some good stuff in it that I go back to periodically to reflect on.

Most of my early blogging was about emerging ministry in the midst of global changes in culture. (Tough to see straight when you’re being whirled around in a vortex of paradigm shifts!) With occasional humor pieces just because. And milestone markers, like this one on the verge of my 10th year in blogging, and at its completion.

Perhaps the most significant change that happened was in 2007 with starting up my futuristguy blog on a WordPress platform. (Most of my previous blogs were digitally destroyed when the platform got hacked by black hats.) After a summit I participated in on “missional orders,” I started blogging a lot more about culture and context. This being “missional” wasn’t exactly anything new in my thinking, more a refinement in direction, which was something happening for a lot of people who’d been involved in the emerging ministry movement that started in the mid-1990s. And through my new friends from the summit, I heard about Barb Orlowski’s doctoral research project on church leaders who’d been victims of spiritual abuse. Sadly, my experience fit that, so, in early 2008, I took her survey. And that got me started on my current phase of the journey to research related issues in depth and create case studies on spiritual abuse and personal recovery and organizational rehabilitation. All this has been designed to adjust the church planters’ curriculum I’ve been working on, so it includes what can go wrong with ministry, even when we want to do what’s right.

And that curriculum looks to be done soon. So … what’s next then, in terms of blogging?

Actually, I have no firm direction, other than a few whisps of ideas for possible pathways forward. I definitely want to take a break from spiritual abuse topics, at least for a while. And I’ve thought about sometime after turning 60 later this year, periodically visiting my home state where there are still four real seasons, stay at least a week or two each visit, and write a devotional book reflecting on seasons of life and what I think I’ve learned about pioneering the future – as a third-generation representative of Western frontier pioneers on both sides of my family.

Anyway, I guess I just have to wait and see, which is what this journey has been since the beginning. An epic journey always has unexpected twists and turns. For instance, who would’ve foreseen that someone my age would have been blogging for 20% of their lifetime …

No matter what, I suspect whatever is next will be intriguing! Hope you’ll join me for that phase of the journey, too, for both the memorable and the mundane.

 

2 thoughts on “Happy Blogiversary … 12 years in [2003-2015] and starting into #13 …

Comments are closed.