Check Out My “Do Good Plus Do No Harm” Curriculum Website

Do Good Plus Do No Harm Masthead 2

Do Good Plus Do No Harm ~ Cover art, “Pathway of Peace” ~ Original quilt design and production by Sonja Naylor Andrews, image used by permission.

It took a while, but I completed the website that details my forthcoming Futuristguy’s Field Guide training series, and overviews future Opal Design System resources. I had to finish editing samples from the curriculum, and upload the many images that illustrate the material. But, I’m delighted with the results, especially the images and the samples!

“Laundry Day” and Mental Models is one of my favorite sample articles … and I’m liking how the media case study “Master Class” on Dolores Umbridge turned out.

The three books in the training curriculum of Do Good Plus Do No Harm have been in the making since 2009, and if all goes well, at least the first two volumes will be available in 2016.

Check it out and see what you think …

 

2 thoughts on “Check Out My “Do Good Plus Do No Harm” Curriculum Website

  1. ” Do Good plus do no harm”
    *
    The Wicca Rede [ motto }
    “An it harm none, do what ye will.”
    *
    Westminster Shorter Catechism
    Q. 1. What is the chief end of man?
    A. Man’s chief end is to glorify God,[1] and to enjoy him forever.
    *
    I choose number 3.

    • Thanks for dropping by. As it turns out, I greatly appreciate #3. In fact, there’s a particular quote from Francis Schaeffer about the Westminster Confession that I found so thought-provoking, I wrote it out and put it in my Bible 35+ years ago:

      “The chief end of man is to glorify God and to enjoy Him forever.”

      It would be scripturally false to leave out the second phrase – “and to enjoy Him forever.” The men who formulated this showed great wisdom and insight in saying “and to enjoy Him forever.” Nevertheless, the first phrase is the first phrase: “The chief end of man is to glorify God.” And in Christianity we have a non-determined God who did not need to create because there was love and communication within the Trinity, and yet having been created, we as men can glorify God. But we must feel the force of both sides of the issue. If we fail to emphasize that we can glorify God, we raise the whole question of whether we are significant at all. We begin to lose our humanity as soon as we begin to lose the emphasis that what we do makes a difference. We can glorify God, and both the Old and New Testament say that we can even make God sad.

      That is tremendous.

      Francis A. Schaeffer

      I don’t know if you’re a new reader of my blog, Mr. Brown. If you are, check out some of the issues and case studies I’ve written about. I hope it’s evident that I am a missional Christian who chooses to live out #3 and glorify God through my work in #1. The way I understand “do good plus do no harm,” it is about seeking to make a difference in the name of Jesus Christ — part of which is to prevent harm from happening to others, or intervene when it is. That is one way that, hopefully, the character of Jesus Christ shines through for any and all to see, and the value of all people is affirmed because we are made in the image of God. Isn’t that the essence of Christ’s “Golden Rule”?

      Much of what I’m called to involves identifying paradigms that encourage abuse of power in both Church and society, and offering Scripture-based solutions for redemptive ministry and peace-making, This isn’t particularly pleasant, because there’s so much inhumane HazMat stuff to have to slog through. But it does have a practical and constructive side. For instance, in the training materials I’m writing, I seek to offer what I’ve learned in the past 40 years about applying the Bible to minister in the world of violence and avarice we live in. I also try to help churches, ministries, and individual Christians become less conducive to what’s abusive, and pursue robust transformation as a community of sojourners in a host society.

      Haven’t we seen in the past few years how just about any theology and denomination can play host to people who promote principles and practices that harm God’s people? Sordid gain. Condoning sin. Overlording. Holding to a form of godliness but denying the Holy Spirit’s empowerment thereof. Such things should not be in the Church … especially among Christ-followers who disciple and lead others. These compound the brokenness we already have as part of our heritage as humans, and give others every reason to dismiss the message of Jesus because of the behavior of Christians.

      Anyway, that is some of my thinking behind the choice of title for the series. It’s not perfect, but I feel like it’s workable, given what I’m called to do.

      [Edited 10-10-2015 to add some additional thoughts about the Golden Rule to the fourth paragraph from the bottom.]

Comments are closed.