GoFundMe Campaign and Great News on Project Progress!

GREAT NEWS — hopefully I have just one last blast before I reach the finish line on volumes #1 and #2 of my 3-volume training curriculum!

Thankfully, it’s been a very productive last couple of weeks. I got my promotional website launched for this Futuristguy’s Field Guides curriculum project. I’ve also planned out the related media pages for movies, books, and other media I use as illustrations and workbook exercises. (I’ll finish those while the books are being proofread.) And I’ve gotten dozens of pages of notes typed up and ready to paste into place.

Plus, I finally got the majority of outlining on the workbooks done for all three volumes. This was a crucial step, because the many workbook sections need to feel connected. And I recently got some great constructive questions and positive feedback from the kinds of people I hope will use this material. That shows me I’m on the right track, and I’m feeling more settled than ever on the approach of tackling both what TO do, and what NOT to do in existing organizations and start-ups to deal with abuse or prevent it.

So, looks pretty much like a straight and steady drive from here! To which I say, “Huzzah! Hoorah! Hooray!”

I could even be done with volume #1 in a few weeks, and with volume #2 in a few months, and then ready for press soon after that. That’s because some financial support has come in, thanks to my friend Dee Parsons at The Wartburg Watch. She set up a GoFundMe campaign to help cover 3 months of writing time and the pre-printing expenses for these first two volumes. (It’s about $1,000 for ISBNs, licenses for about 300 images and cover art, etc.) She and Julie Anne Smith from Spiritual Sounding Board are promoting it on their blogs. You might find their posts, my completion plans, and other people’s comments of interest. Here are the links to The Wartburg Watch post, and the Spiritual Sounding Board post.

If you feel led to help out financially and/or pray, great! If not or you can’t, no worries. So many of you have given in various ways along the way — please know I’m grateful for your encouragement, prayers, and supportiveness. This turned out to be a 7-year project, and I know I wouldn’t be this close to done with it, without my network of friends. Biggest prayer needs for next few months are: perseverance, not getting sick, and funds to get finished.

So — there it is. Hope that my next report can be that book #1 is d-o-n-e DONE!

~ Brad

3 thoughts on “GoFundMe Campaign and Great News on Project Progress!

  1. Thought I share a mid-November update. I’m very grateful for people’s generosity and prayers. It’s been a great de-stressification to get all my November bills paid and have the rest of the month clear to write! Looks like I might have Volume #1 done in the next few weeks, because I’ve had a productive period lately. I got my promotional website launched, related media pages planned out, and a last stack of notes typed and ready to paste into place. I also got outlining done for workbook sections for all three volumes so there’s continuity.

    And I was recently at an event where I got constructive feedback from people in my target audience. That helps, as it confirms the sense that I’m on the right track with helping people tackle both what TO do, and what NOT to do in organizations and start-ups, in order to deal with abuse!

    I began this project almost exactly 7 years ago. Who knew writing it’d take this long? But I feel like this support campaign has given me a second wind so I can run to the end. (Okay, walk briskly.) Thanks for your part in making this happen!

Comments are closed.